HBCU Scholarship

In accordance with Northeastern University’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Action Plan, the law school’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) Scholarship aims to promote racial justice and increase diversity across our community. It is granted to selected outstanding JD and FlexJD applicants who have received an undergraduate degree from a US Historically HBCU.

Applicants are automatically  considered for this half-tuition award — a minimum of five HBCU graduates are offered funding each admissions year. The scholarship renews each year as long as the student remains in good academic standing and abides by university policies including the University Code of Student Conduct and academic policies and procedures.

Applications must be completed no later than March 1 to be considered for the scholarship. Additional terms and conditions apply.

List of HBCUs 

  • Alabama A&M University
  • Alabama State University
  • Albany State University
  • Alcorn State University
  • Allen University
  • American Baptist College
  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • Benedict College
  • Bennett College
  • Bethune-Cookman University
  • Bluefield State College
  • Bowie State University
  • Central State University
  • Cheyney University of Pennsylvania
  • Claflin University
  • Clark Atlanta University
  • Clinton College
  • Concordia College, Alabama
  • Coppin State University
  • Delaware State University
  • Dillard University
  • Edward Waters University
  • Elizabeth City State University
  • Fayetteville State University
  • Fisk University
  • Florida A&M University
  • Florida Memorial University
  • Fort Valley State University
  • Grambling State University
  • Hampton University
  • Harris-Stowe State University
  • Howard University
  • Huston-Tillotson University
  • Jackson State University
  • Jarvis Christian College
  • Johnson C. Smith University
  • Kentucky State University
  • Knoxville College
  • Lane College
  • Langston University
  • LeMoyne-Owen College
  • Lincoln University (Missouri)
  • Lincoln University (Pa.)
  • Livingstone College
  • Miles College
  • Mississippi Valley State University
  • Morehouse College
  • Morgan State University
  • Morris Brown College
  • Morris College
  • Norfolk State University
  • North Carolina A&T State University
  • North Carolina Central University
  • Oakwood University
  • Paine College
  • Paul Quinn College
  • Philander Smith College
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • Rust College
  • Savannah State University
  • Selma University
  • Shaw University
  • Shorter College
  • Simmons College of Kentucky
  • South Carolina State University
  • Southern University and A&M College
  • Southern University at New Orleans
  • Southern University at Shreveport
  • Spelman College
  • Augustine's University
  • Philip’s College
  • Stillman College
  • Talladega College
  • Tennessee State University
  • Texas College
  • Texas Southern University
  • Tougaloo College
  • Tuskegee University
  • University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
  • University of Maryland Eastern Shore
  • University of the District of Columbia
  • University of the Virgin Islands
  • Virginia State University
  • Virginia Union University
  • Virginia University of Lynchburg
  • Voorhees College
  • West Virginia State University
  • Wilberforce University
  • Wiley College
  • Winston-Salem State University
  • Xavier University of Louisiana


Students who are eligible to receive this award must have graduated and obtained a bachelor’s degree from an above listed HBCU with strong academic achievement. Award recipients are expected to maintain satisfactory academic progress (SAP) throughout their time at Northeastern Law. No application is required; students will be automatically considered for this award once they submit their application materials. Scholarship decisions are made through a committee process that takes into consideration a variety of factors that display academic excellence. Commitment to social justice, public interest or community engagement will also be considered.

For additional details and information about this scholarship, please contact the Office of Financial Aid at lawfinaid@northeastern.edu. Scholarships will appear as “merit scholarship” on financial aid award letters.

About the Program

Northeastern University is committed to diversity and inclusion across our campus and beyond. A key tenet of the President’s Action Plan is to improve support for Black students and increase Black and brown representation across our community. The goal of this scholarship is to lower some of the barriers that students from underrepresented backgrounds and under-invested communities often face when seeking a comprehensive legal education.

For additional information about Northeastern University’s commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion, please contact ODEI at diversity@northeastern.edu or visit the website.

Pathways to Success

All Pathways